Shopping Cart

Your cart is empty

Continue Shopping

Attention deficit disorder - increasingly diagnosed in Quebec

ATTENTION DEFICIT DISORDER - MORE AND MORE DIAGNOSED IN QUEBEC

 

Attention deficit disorder with or without hyperactivity (ADD-HD) is widely diagnosed in Quebec. More and more Ritalin® is prescribed by doctors. In Canada, the number of prescriptions increased fivefold between 1990 and 1997. It also doubled between 2001 and 2008. From 2007 to 2008 alone, there was a 14% increase. Fortunately, there is hope in complementary medicine approaches with the awareness that each child is unique in their ability to learn. First, let's look at what it is with conventional treatment, symptomatology, diagnosis, and the causes and risk factors.

 

It is the most common neurobehavioral disorder in children: 5% to 10% of them are thought to have it.

 

The three main characteristics of ADHD are inattention, hyperactivity and impulsivity. Several symptoms are associated with it: difficulty in paying sustained attention to a particular task or activity with effort, a tendency to run and climb everywhere, inattention errors in homework and schoolwork, a tendency to be very easily distracted, a tendency to talk a lot and difficulty sitting still in class or elsewhere.

 

Diagnostic

To confirm the diagnosis, a psychological and neuropsychological test should be done. Furthermore :

  • Some symptoms, described above, must be present before the age of 7;
  • Symptoms should be felt at home, at daycare or at school, although their intensity may vary from place to place;
  • Symptoms should be present for at least 6 months.

 

Biochemical cause and risk factors

ADHD is thought to be caused by a brain abnormality and an imbalance in the levels of certain chemical messengers (neurotransmitters) in the brain, such as dopamine and norepinephrine due to the presence of factors that contribute to the development of the syndrome. The following are risk factors:

  • The use of tobacco, alcohol and drugs during pregnancy;
  • Exposure to pesticides or other toxic products such as PBCs or phthalates;
  • Childhood lead poisoning;
  • Certain foods and food additives.

 

The food factor

Food additives, sugar and food intolerances are also singled out. A deficiency in omega-3 fatty acids, certain minerals and vitamins is also likely. This is what we will see in articles devoted exclusively to diet and ADHD.

Panier d'achat

Votre panier est vide

Poursuivre les achats

Le trouble de déficit d’attention – de plus en plus diagnostiqué au Québec

LE TROUBLE DE DÉFICIT D'ATTENTION – DE PLUS EN PLUS DIAGNOSTIQUÉ AU QUÉBEC

 

Le trouble de déficit d’attention avec ou sans hyperactivité (TDA-H) est  très diagnostiqué au Québec. Les médecins prescrivent de plus en plus de Ritalin®. Au Canada, le nombre d’ordonnances a été multiplié par 5 de 1990 à 1997. Il a aussi doublé entre 2001 et 2008. De 2007 à 2008 seulement, il y a eu hausse de 14 %. Heureusement, il y a de l’espoir du côté des approches de médecines complémentaires doublées de la conscience que chaque enfant est unique dans sa capacité d’apprentissage.  Tout d’abord, regardons ce qu’il en est avec le traitement conventionnel, la symptomatologie, le diagnostic et les causes et facteurs de risque.

 

Il s’agit du trouble neurocomportemental le plus fréquent chez les enfants : de 5 % à 10 % d’entre eux en seraient atteints.

 

Les trois principales caractéristiques du TDAH sont l’inattention, l’hyperactivité et l’impulsivité. Plusieurs symptômes y sont associés : une difficulté à être attentif de façon soutenue à une tâche ou une activité particulière avec effort, une tendance à courir et à grimper partout, des erreurs d’inattention dans les devoirs et les travaux scolaires, une tendance à être très facilement distrait, une tendance à parler beaucoup et une difficulté à rester assis en classe ou ailleurs.

 

Diagnostic

Pour confirmer le diagnostic, un test psychologique et neuropsychologique doit être fait. De plus :

  • Certains symptômes, décris plus hauts, doivent être présents avant l’âge de 7 ans;
  • Les symptômes doivent se manifester autant à la maison qu’à la garderie ou à l’école, bien que leur intensité puisse varier d’un lieu à l’autre;
  • Les symptômes doivent être présents depuis au moins 6 mois.

 

Cause biochimique et facteurs de risques

Le TDAH serait causé par une anomalie cérébrale et un déséquilibre dans les taux de certains messagers chimiques (neurotransmetteurs) dans le cerveau, comme la dopamine et la norépinéphrine suite à la présence de facteurs qui contribuent à l’apparition du syndrome. Les éléments suivants sont des facteurs de risque :

  • La consommation de tabac, d’alcool et de drogues durant la grossesse ;
  • L’exposition aux pesticides ou à d’autres produits toxiques comme les PBC ou les phtalates ;
  • Une intoxication au plomb durant l’enfance ;
  • Certains aliments et additifs alimentaires.

 

Le facteur alimentaire

Les additifs alimentaires, le sucre et des intolérances alimentaires sont aussi pointés du doigt. Une carence en acide gras oméga-3, en certains minéraux et vitamines est aussi vraisemblable. C’est ce que nous verrons dans des articles exclusivement consacrés à l’alimentation et le TDAH.