Shopping Cart

Your cart is empty

Continue Shopping

Attention deficit disorder - sugar on the bench of the accused

ATTENTION DEFICIT DISORDER - SUGAR ON THE TRIAL BENCH

 

Some studies have attempted to demonstrate the link between sugar consumption and attention deficit with or without hyperactivity.

 

A clinical study was undertaken by Brooklyn College in 2003. The researchers came to the following conclusion:

"The attention deficit with hyperactivity (TDAH) is multi-factorial and complex, requiring a multiple therapeutic approach. Nutritional management is an aspect that has been relatively neglected to date. Nutritional factors such as food additives, refined sugars, food sensitivities/allergies, and fatty acid deficiencies have all been linked to TDAH. There is more evidence that many children with behavioural problems are sensitive to one or more dietary components that may have a negative impact on their behaviour. Individual response is an important factor in determining the appropriate method to treat children with TDAH. In general, a change in diet plays a major role in the treatment of TDAH and should be considered part of the treatment protocol.[1]»

 

Sugar is a particularly sensitive subject. Current research does not seem to confirm this hypothesis[2]. On the other hand, food additives, including dyes, that accompany it could be involved.

 

However, sugar is linked to a reaction hypoglycaemia, i.e., after sugar consumption, an increase in blood sugar followed by a "crash," which would explain in children a greater agitation followed by a difficulty to concentrate and to have a good level of energy. It is also linked to the obesity epidemic, type 2 diabetes, decreased immunity and diseases related to silent inflammation, including cardiovascular and neurological diseases, to name a few.

 

In terms of nutrition, the best way to increase attention, concentration and memory is to eat natural, whole and organic foods that contain protein at every meal, leafy vegetables or fruits and good omega-3-rich fats such as flax, hemp, chia or fish.



[1] Appl Psychophysiol Biofeedback. On 2003 Mar; 28 (1):63-75.

Nutrition in the treatment of attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder: a neglected but important aspect.

Schnoll R, Burshteyn D, Cea-Aravena J.

Source

Department of Health and Nutrition Sciences, Brooklyn College, City University of New York, 2900 Bedford Avenue, Brooklyn, New York 11210-2889, USA. rschnoll@brooklyn.cuny.edu

 

[2] Nutr Res Pract. On 2011 June; 5(3): 236–245.

Correlation between attention deficit hyperactivity disorder and sugar consumption, quality of diet, and dietary behavior in school children

Yujeong Kim1 and Hyeja Chang

Published online 2011 June 21. doi: 10.4162 / nrp.2011.5.3.236

PMCID: PMC3133757

Panier d'achat

Votre panier est vide

Poursuivre les achats

Le trouble de déficit d’attention – le sucre au banc des accusés

LE TROUBLE DE DÉFICIT D'ATTENTION – LE SUCRE AU BANC DES ACCUSÉS

 

Certaines études ont tenté de démontrer le lien entre la consommation de sucre et le déficit d’attention avec ou sans hyperactivité.

 

Une étude clinique fut entreprise par le collège de Brooklyn en 2003. Les chercheurs sont arrivés à la conclusion suivante :

« Le déficit de l'attention avec hyperactivité (TDAH) est multi factoriel et complexe, nécessitant une approche thérapeutique multiple. La prise en charge nutritionnelle est un aspect qui a été relativement négligée jusqu'à ce jour. Les facteurs nutritionnels tels que les additifs alimentaires, les sucres raffinés, de sensibilités alimentaires / allergies, et les carences en acides gras ont tous été liés au TDAH. Il y a plus de preuves que de nombreux enfants ayant des problèmes comportementaux sont sensibles à un ou plusieurs composants alimentaires qui peuvent avoir un impact négatif sur leur comportement. La réponse individuelle est un facteur important pour déterminer la méthode appropriée pour traiter les enfants avec le TDAH. En général, une modification du régime alimentaire joue un rôle majeur dans le traitement du TDAH et doit être considéré comme faisant partie du protocole de traitement. [1]»

 

Le sucre est un sujet particulièrement sensible. Les recherches actuelles ne semblent pas confirmer cette hypothèse[2]. Par contre, les additifs alimentaires, dont les colorants, qui l’accompagnent pourraient être en cause.

 

Le sucre est cependant en lien avec une hypoglycémie réactionnelle soit, après la consommation de sucre, une hausse du taux de sucre sanguin suivi d’un « crash » ce qui expliquerait chez les enfants une plus grande agitation suivie d’une difficulté à se concentrer et à avoir un bon niveau d’énergie. Il est aussi lié à l’épidémie d’obésité, au diabète de type 2, à une baisse de l’immunité et à des maladies liées à l’inflammation silencieuse, entre autres, les maladies cardiovasculaires et neurologiques pour ne nommer que celles-là.

 

Sur le plan de la nutrition, la meilleure façon d’augmenter l’attention, la concentration et la mémoire est de manger des aliments naturels, entier et biologiques qui contiennent des protéines à chaque repas, des légumes en feuille ou des fruits et des bons gras riches en oméga-3 comme le lin, le chanvre, le chia ou le poisson.



[1] Appl Psychophysiol Biofeedback. 2003 Mar;28(1):63-75.

Nutrition in the treatment of attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder: a neglected but important aspect.

Schnoll R, Burshteyn D, Cea-Aravena J.

Source

Department of Health and Nutrition Sciences, Brooklyn College, City University of New York, 2900 Bedford Avenue, Brooklyn, New York 11210-2889, USA. rschnoll@brooklyn.cuny.edu

 

[2] Nutr Res Pract. 2011 June; 5(3): 236–245.

Correlation between attention deficit hyperactivity disorder and sugar consumption, quality of diet, and dietary behavior in school children

Yujeong Kim1 and Hyeja Chang

Published online 2011 June 21. doi:  10.4162/nrp.2011.5.3.236

PMCID: PMC3133757